Live review: Amorphis, Omnium Gatherum, POEM at 013, Tilburg, The Netherlands, 17-3-2016

013 has managed once again to be a tour stop of a great combination of bands, this time the Greeks of POEM and the two Finnish bands Omnium Gatherum and Amorphis.

POEM was completely new to me to be honest, but what a surprise! Their somewhat progressive sound, worked really well live. Melancholic pieces and parts went hand-in-hand with more brutal parts, mixed with some oriental aspects. Tons of emotions and rock straight from the soul, as it should be. Great job guys, will definitely watch out for another concert!

After a short tag break Omnium Gatherum climbed the stage, for their last concert of this tour. Kicking off with The Pit, taken from their latest album Grey Heavens, it was a real pleasure from the beginning. Many new songs followed, such as Skyline, Frontiers and The Great Liberation. Great sound, great atmosphere – you could definitely see that the guys really enjoyed themselves, as did the audience. The 50 minutes therefore passed away way too quickly. New World Shadows closed off the evening for the guys.

At 21:15 it was time for the headliner of the night, Amorphis. Promoting their latest album Under The Red Cloud, it came as no surprise that many songs were taken from this brilliant record. Kicking off with the title track, it was followed by the first single, Sacrifice, and Bad Blood from the last record. As with the concert supporting Nightwish, the new songs work live really well. Next to these, Amorphis also played some older songs, e.g. from the Elegy (On Rich and Poor) and the Tales From the Thousand Lakes (Drowned Maid) albums. Next to these, like in any Amorphis concert, My Kantele and House of Sleep cannot be missed. The regular time was closed with Hopeless Days, before it was time for a three-song encore with Death of a King, Silver Bride and The Smoke. Overall a great evening with a great atmosphere, and kick-ass shows of all three bands. Until next time!

Setlist Omnium Gatherum:
1. The Pit
2. New Dynamic
3. Skyline
4. Frontiers
5. The Unknown
6. Ego
7. Ophidian Sunrise
8. The Great Liberation
9. New World Shadows

Setlist Amorphis:
1. Under The Red Cloud
2. Sacrifice
3. Bad Blood
4. Sky Is Mine
5. The Wanderer
6. On Rich and Poor
7. Drowned Maid
8. Dark Path
9. The Four Wise Ones
10. Silent Waters
11. My Kantele
12. House of Sleep
13. Hopeless Days
14. Death of a King (Encore)
15. Silver Bride (Encore)
16. The Smoke (Encore)

Read another live review of Amorphis by us here.

Amorphis Official Website
Amorphis Facebook
Omnium Gatherum Official Website
Omnium Gatherum Facebook
Omnium Gatherum Twitter
POEM Facebook

1 thought on “Live review: Amorphis, Omnium Gatherum, POEM at 013, Tilburg, The Netherlands, 17-3-2016

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.